Flights of The Electribird

Through Games, Events and Multimedia

Metallica Preparty by Metal Monarcs

Leave a comment

Last weekend, Metallica went to play live at Ullevi in Gothenburg, Sweden. Since I wasn’t able to get tickets on time, I had to settle for one of the several preparties that was held that evening before the concert instead. After all, when a Heavy Metal tribute band like Metal Monarcs invites you to come AND allows you to bring a real camera to their concert (some artists and concert event holders are against photography), you accept with a “HELL, YEAH!” and show up!

It took some time for me to find the place, to be honest. There were so many people there already wearing suits and fancy dresses, you never guessed a metal band were planning to play there. Then I spotted that one indicator that I had indeed reached my destination.

Thank goodness, I thought I was lost!

You know you’ve reached the right place when you spot the name of the band somewhere.

With time, the amount of fancy people were being replaced with rockers. The huge bar, which was inconveniently placed a few metres from the stage, was constantly surrounded by people. Music was already playing loudly through the speakers as more and more people wearing old T-shirts from previous Metallica-concerts appeared every now and then in small groups, all coming to see Metal Monarcs. Then the stuff on stage got their final tweekings and configurations and a Go-Pro camera was being set-up to face the stage from the roof of the bar. Then the band began to rock some well-known songs.

I thought these kinds of entries ended with Elvis Presley...

The concert starts with the singer facing the drums…

HELL YEAH!

… then hit the notes with full flare!

I take it that these gentlemen must look familiar to some people. That’s because they are all famous to the most knowledgeable of rock fans. All 5 of them are known from other well-known metal bands and have been in the business of rocking people’s socks off for years.

No drummer can hide from me nowadays!

Jesse Lindskog from Dragonland on drums.

Sunlight in the eyes couldn't stop these guys from rocking!

Eric Rauti and Mats Rendlert from Dreamland on guitar and bass.

Just seeing him there made my day!

Oscar Dronjak from Hammerfall on guitar.

He's just as awesome in person as he is on stage, I promise!

Jonas Heidgert from Dragonland and Destiny on vocals.

Just like any other tribute band, Metal Monarcs’s repertoire consisted of other people’s songs, like “I Want Out” by Helloween, “Run to the Hills” and “Wasted Years” by Iron Maiden, “All We Are” by Warlock, “Mr. Crowley” by Ozzy Osbourne and several more. But since this was a preparty for Metallica, their songs were of course played here too (“Enter Sandman” and “Seek and Destroy”).

Since alcohol and rock go hand in hand, you can count on that some odd stuff caused by the audience occurred, both during and between each set.

Someone's always show-boating when there's a camera nearby.

This man played air-guitar during the first few songs.

He had to get down to give room for the band.

This guy hopped up on stage just before the second set.

But the entire event was mostly peaceful (even if I did almost punch a guy for pushing past me and shoving his elbow on the back of my arm) and none of the shenanigans caused any interruptions for Metal Monarcs. They just kept rocking and the crowd loved it!

ROCK AND ROLL!

The more songs the band played, the more of a party the audience had.

And just like any good party, a lot of people were present at the event. As a matter of fact, the place was so packed, I was stuck where I was about an hour after the concert ended. At least this introduced me to a first – I’ve never seen a band pack their gear before that evening.

Who needs roadies on small events like this?

The band help each other pack their own gear.

Once there was no trace of the band left on stage, I decided to find my way out of the crowd. This wasn’t easy at all, since the place was packed like cars in a traffic jam and some of the possible exits had been blocked to prevent even more people from getting in. I ended up using one of those exits anyway, because the only one allowed was nowhere to be seen or found through the crowd.

Packed like a sardine can...

The crowd was huge when I finally got out of there…

How desperate could they have been for a drink!?

… and still growing bigger and bigger!

But in the end, this Metallica Preparty gets a 4/5 easily. Metal Monarcs were awesome from start to finish and really good sports among the visitors. My only issue was the choice of location. This place wasn’t made for concerts. Whoever decided to place a bar so close to the stage should get sued, because the damn thing took up a lot of space and blocked the view for a lot of people. I was also annoyed over that the exits were blocked. I understand that it was necessary to keep people from getting in, but they shouldn’t make it harder for people to get out. After all, when the party’s over, there’s no need to stay, especially when you’re on your way to a Metallica-concert afterwards. Lucky for me that I wasn’t, huh (I couldn’t get tickets, remember)? Well, “SCREW YOU!”, I say! I love Metallica…

Leave a Reply

