Flights of The Electribird

Through Games, Events and Multimedia

The Perfect Way to Enjoy Music

Leave a comment

Only a few hours ago, I got to try out 2 music-related games for the first time – Rock Band and Singstar for PlayStation 3 (a game console I’ve never played with before either). I’ve never tried anything related to real karaeoke before, so this was definetely something I refused to miss at any cost. If there’s anything I love more than good music, it’s singing and playing good music. It’s a shame my throat isn’t very keen about singing as much as I am…

Allow me to start off with Rock Band. I got to play drums for the song “Say It Ain’t So” by Weezer, which (according to those who saw me play) was pretty well done for a beginner. The gameplay for the drum did seem like a combination between Guitar Hero and the music games in Rayman Raving Rabbids 1 and 2, where you have to shake the Wii-remote and nunchuck in a certain pace and moment, so that helped a bit. It was a little tricky to play, since I’m not used to keep track at all the things I could hit with the drumsticks or the pedal, but it sure was fun to play! I hope I can get hold of this game with all the instruments, because this game rules! Play it once and you’ll keep coming back for more.

Singstar was quite interesting. Like I mentioned before, I’ve never sung karaeoke before. That’s why I was delighted to give it a shot, because I love to sing! I was surprised over how easy it was and how easy it could have been if there were less noise in the room. I’m used to sing in a choir and therefore listen to what the other sings and sing along, but it was way too noisy to hear the original singer sing. Too bad, because I noticed how well I could ace a song if I remembered how it went…

So, which game spoke to me the most? Rock Band, of course! Most of the songs on Singstar sucked bigtime and were too unknown to me to be able to sing. Rock Band, on the other hand, had plenty of good songs to try out and play with the instrument of choice and was able to be played by 4 players at the same time instead of just 2. But I did enjoy the 2-player-twist Singstar had, though, but as mentioned, that game needs better songs.

Leave a Reply

