Flights of The Electribird

Through Games, Events and Multimedia

The Luxury of Having a Laptop with Vista

Leave a comment

You know how people enjoy taking a hot bath or relaxing on a comfy couch with a good book? Ever since I got my laptop as a birthday gift not long ago, I’ve been getting more of those comfy habits. So far, my favorite one is to sit on my remote-controlled bed (I have a back problem) with my quilt over my legs and the laptop on a wooden tray in front of me. I have never in my entire life done my homework in a more comfortable way! If anything convinced me to install The Sims 2 on my laptop, that was it!

Speaking of games, I tried to install Spore on my laptop a few days ago. The installation went great, but I was still unable to run the game! I tried everything. I upgraded the drivers, I checked several knowledge bases online and even looked up the system requirements for the game. Nothing! Because of that, I tried to install an older game, thinking it would probably work better – Nox. I know, this game’s pretty old and wasn’t made for Vista (heh, it wasn’t even made for XP) but I still decided to give it a shot. To my joy, Nox worked! Unfortunately, the videos for the game kept freezing. I have no idea how or what could have possibly happened, but after the next few days, the videos for Nox began to work properly! Yesterday, when I was bored after class, I checked out the game menu on my laptop and discovered to my surprise that Spore was still installed, so I gave it a try. It worked! I couldn’t believe it, but it worked! I don’t know what happened before the videos for Nox began to work properly, but I think that has something to do with it. Perhaps Windows Update might have fixed something behind my back. Either way, I have 2 great games on my laptop and both of them work splendidly!

While we’re still in the subject of games, I discovered something else yesterday that I’ve personally never noticed before. Vista has a grading system that showes how compatible the computer is for the games that are installed on it. That’s brilliant! It showed me how compatible Spore was and if I could run it properly, both the required limit for running the game and the required limit for best performance. I’m glad Windows finally has a system for this, because it helps a lot if you’re unsure of how much the computer can handle or if the game would run properly. Spore passed pretty well on my laptop, but my laptop needs 0,5 points more to run the game with the best performance. Too bad I don’t know how to upgrade the hardware on laptops. But that’s irrelavent. Spore works and I can play it wherever I want now!

Leave a Reply

