Flights of The Electribird

Through Games, Events and Multimedia

The First PC-Game I’ve Ever Made!

Leave a comment

I made simple boardgames when I was still in kindergarden, I’ve designed all kinds of games in school with my fellow students and I’m working on some game projects of my own. Now I can proudly say that I’ve made a PC-game on my own. It’s called “Catch the Circle Man” and is a variation of a game in Game Maker’s tutorial called “Catch the Clown”. For those of you who’ve never heard of Game Maker, it’s a simple software for creating simple arcade games. I could only afford the “Lite-version” (it’s free to download), so I couldn’t do much with it, but at least I learned the basics.

The loading screen for "Catch the Circle Man", which I made myself with MS Paint.

The loading screen for "Catch the Circle Man", which I made myself with MS Paint.

In this game, you have to click on the circle man (the red smiley) to catch him and collect points. But beware of the ghost! If he touches the circle man, the game starts over from scratch.

This is how the game looks like. I know, I should have made the level smaller...

This is how the game looks like. I know, I should have made the area smaller...

It took me about 1/4 of a day to make this game, which isn’t bad for a beginner if you ask me. But I wish Game Maker wasn’t so limited. There were too little attributes and other options to choose from, which made it all so dull in the end. But someday I might get another tutorial for Game Maker and make a more complicated and fun game. Or perhaps I should just look for a software specifically made for P&C-games, like Adventure Maker or Adventure Game Studio instead…

Leave a Reply

